Home >> What we do >> Charrett Moot

Charrett Moot

Details for the 2019 Moot

The SoCLA Young Constructors Committee is pleased to announce that registration for the annual Charrett Moot 2019 are now open. 

The annual Charrett Moot is a national competition that will involve 8 teams competing in a three–round elimination competition format, including the Grand Final at the SoCLA National Conference in Perth on1-3 August 2019. 

Every effort is made to ensure that preliminary rounds are contested between teams in the same city, and are determined by local adjudicators. 

The competition is not restricted to lawyers, and all interested members of SoCLA are encouraged to register a team of 3 to 4 members.  All team members must have no more than 4 years of post-qualification experience.
Registrations close on 17 May 2019, or earlier when 8 teams are registered. 

To be advised of updates, be sure to sign up as a member of the Society.

Please note: all participants must be current members of the Society of Construction Law Australia.


Download the Expression of Interest document.


Background and Purpose of the Moot

The Society of Construction Law Australia is pleased to run the annual Charrett Moot competition, a mooting competition for young professionals in the infrastructure and construction industries.  Participants include lawyers, engineers, quantity surveyors and other professionals (up to 4 years post-qualification experience).

The Charrett Moot is named in honour of Donald Charrett, Australia's leading figure in construction law.  Dr Charrett is currently a Barrister, Arbitrator, Mediator and Dispute Board Member practising in building and engineering disputes, and prior to signing the Victorian bar roll in 2004, Dr Charrett was a leading engineer and solicitor.  Dr Charrett oversees the competition and moderates the annual Grand Final.

A key objective of the moot is to encourage young practitioners to be involved in advocacy and public speaking, and to increase their exposure in the infrastructure and construction industries.  To achieve this aim, the Grand Final is conducted as part of the Society's annual National Conference in front of conference delegates and other leading industry figures.

The moot is designed to be a learning opportunity, whilst also giving participants the chance to step out of their comfort zones in a supportive environment.  Past moot judges have included leading solicitors and barristers, academics and Supreme Court judges.

History and Past Grand Finalists

The first Charrett Moot was contested in 2015. 

The reigning winners comprise a team from Clayton Utz (Melbourne), including Allison van Beers, Paul Tamburro, Noelle Alphonso-Loong and Lucy Groenewegen, winners of the 2018 Grand Final moot at the national conference at the Hunter Valley, NSW.

Previous Winners include:

  • 2017: Sarah Cahill, Alexandria Hammerton, Ben Garvey and Hazal Gacka (Minter Ellison (Brisbane));
  • 2016: Rebecca Lew, Sophie Westland, Stephen Moore and Timothy Rankin (Ashurst (Melbourne)); and
  • 2015: Raeesa Rawal, Josh Singer and Sean Kelly.



The competition is organised by the Society's Young Constructors Committee and the 2018 Charrett Moot will be managed by Sean Kelly and Josh Singer.


Join button

Membership Renewals are now overdue

Please log in to renew.
Please check your profile before renewing.
If you are a corporate individual member please check with us (admin@scl.org.au) before renewing as your renewal may still be processing via your corporate contact.